Moog Sound Lab Collaborates with Doug Aitken on Coast to Coast Railway Art Installation


For Immediate Release (New York , NY September 6, 2013) Moog Sound Lab Series is excited to go mobile with artist Doug Aitken on his newest project, Station to Station: A Nomadic Happening which launches this Friday September 6 in New York and ends in Oakland, California on Saturday, September 28.

Station to Station will connect artists, musicians and creative pioneers with diverse communities, pushing art and culture outside of institutional constraints. A public art project made possible by the Levi’s® brand, Station to Station will raise funds through ticket sales and donations that can be made on the Station to Station website, to support non-traditional programming at nine partner institutions around the country.

Over the course of three weeks this September, a train will travel from New York City to San Francisco making nine stops along the way. At each stop, Station to Station will curate leading figures from the art, music, culinary, literary, and film worlds for a series of cultural interventions and site-specific happenings. The Aitken designed train turned kinetic sculpture will act as a cultural studio— globally broadcasting unique content and experiences from the stops as well as on the moving train. Long after departing the last station, Station to Station will leave an indelible creative mark on its local and global audience—opening eyes and shifting perceptions.

The Moog Sound Lab is an original content media channel produced by Moog Music that invites artists and bands to perform in the Moog Music factory in Asheville, North Carolina. Armed with an unlimited supply of electronic instruments from Moog, musicians create a unique analog interpretation of their original material. With Station to Station, Doug Aitken has created a rolling Moog Sound Lab of analog synthesis that literally and figuratively transports you to another place. Loaded up with an arsenal of Moog instruments, musicians on the journey are invited to collaborate in a free form style creating unique analog interpretations or Moog soundscapes.

Moog is proud to be a part of a project that beautifully and organically enhances artists' creative environment. "Leave it to Doug Aitken to dream up putting music's most vibrant minds on a railway car filled with handcrafted analog synthesizers. At Moog, we focus on how to use technology to make tools that assist artists' to more dynamically creatively express themselves. We are honored that Moog is going to provide the palette of soundscapes for this journey," says Emmy Parker, Sr. Marketing & Brand Mgr. MOOG MUSIC INC.

A moving platform for artistic experimentation, Station to Station invites artists and audiences alike to participate in a creative collision of contemporary art, experimental music, and film. Art works and musical performances will change at every stop. Across the entire journey, musical performances will take place.

Artists scheduled to collaborate to bring Moog Sound Lab and Station to Station to life include musicians:: Beck, Jackson Browne, Cat Power, Cold Cave, TheCongos, Dan Deacon, Eleanor Friedberger, The Handsome Family, Lia Ices, Kansas City Marching Cobras, Lucky Dragons, Giorgio Moroder, Nite Jewel, No Age, Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, Savages, Suicide, Sun Araw, THEESatisfaction, Thurston Moore & John Moloney/Caught on Tape, Twin Shadow, YOSHIMIO (OOIOO / Boredoms) & Hisham Akira Bharoocha (Soft Circle / Boredoms) & Ryan Sawyer (Lonewolf) TRIO,White Mystery, and others to be announced.

Site-specific works by the following artists will be featured throughout the journey: Doug Aitken, Allora & Calzadilla, Kathryn Andrews, Kenneth Anger, Taylor-Ruth Baldwin, Yto Barrada, Olaf Breuning, Kate Casanova, Peter Coffin, Bruce Conner, Thomas Demand, Cheryl Donnegan, Sam Durant, Olafur Eliasson, Sam Falls, Urs Fischer, Fischli & Weiss, Meschac Gaba, Theaster Gates, Liz Glynn, Fritz Haeg, Carsten Höller, Christian Jankowski, Jim Jarmusch, Aaron Koblin, Ernesto Neto, Catherine Opie, Jorge Pardo, Philippe Parreno, Raymond Pettibon, Nicolas Provost, Robert Rauschenberg Ed Ruscha, Jack Pierson, Kelly Sears, Stephen Shore, Josh Smith,James Turrell, andLawrence Weiner, among others.