Cast Album of Tori Amos Musical 'The Light Princess' Set for Release

Original cast album of 'The Light Princess,' with music composed by Tori Amos, will be released October 9, including two bonus tracks sung by Amos.

The cast album of The Light Princess, the first musical created by artist/composer Tori Amos, will be released by Mercury Classics/Universal Music Classics on October 9. The Light Princess debuted in the National Theatre in London in 2013. The album features studio recordings of the original cast, including two bonus songs from the musical performed by Amos herself for the first time. The double album package also contains complete lyrics, and photos from the London production.

Amos composed music and lyrics for The Light Princess, while the book and lyrics are by Samuel Adamson, based on a 19th-century fairy tale by George Macdonald. Amos' music is woven throughout Adamson's narrative, which tells the story of a young woman, Althea, facing her fears.

The premise of The Light Princess: Althea, sung by Rosalie Craig, loses her mother at the age of six. In an opposing kingdom, a young prince, Digby, also sees his mother die. Digby becomes so solemn that he never smiles. In contrast, Althea becomes so light with grief that she floats into the air where she never cries. She is shunned by her kingdom and locked away in her father’s castle.

To get a glimpse into the world of The Light Princess, fans can now stream the song "Althea" via Spotify.